Early Years Foundation Stage

Overview | Early Years Foundation Stage | Key Stage 1 | Key Stage 2

What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is comprised of two year groups: nursery (ages 3-4) and reception (ages 4-5). At BSM we deliver the 7 areas of learning through a play based curriculum using the 2012 EYFS framework. We provide a safe, caring and nurturing environment allowing children to settle quickly and become competent learners.

In the two years that your child is in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), they will experience a rich play based curriculum focused on their needs as a unique child. They will also enter a dynamic and challenging - yet safe and secure - environment created to foster their confidence to explore and learn. Your child learns in many different ways at this age and through a strong staff to student ratio, we are able to provide opportunities for your child to encounter experiences which deepen their understanding as they play, talk, observe, plan, question, repeat, reflect and respond to adults and each other. Children are actively involved in creating bright stimulating learning environments which are designed to be inviting and encourage their full participation in a variety of activities both indoors and out.

We place a strong emphasis on teachers and parents working in partnership and this is strengthened by the daily soft starts, a flexible start when parents are welcome for the first half hour of the day. The EYFS framework is used to focus on 7 key areas:

• communication and language,
• physical development,
• personal, social and emotional development,
• literacy, mathematics,
• understanding of the world,
• expressive arts and design.
There is particular attention paid to the holistic development of your unique child, equipping them with the strongest foundations on which to build future learning and in preparation for Key Stage 1.
Play underpins the learning and all aspects of children’s development in EYFS. Through play the children develop language, practice new ideas and skills, take risks, show imagination and learn how to solve problems on their own and with others. They are introduced to the concepts of ‘Learning Power’ and through their play they develop an understanding of the six key skills. These are later unpacked and embedded into daily practice in Key Stages 1 and 2. Early Years practitioners carefully plan and resource the experiences to inspire meaningful play and ignite children’s imaginations. This helps children discover and make sense of their world as they explore and experiment in a secure and safe environment.