Welcome | About BSM | Vision and Mission | Accreditations | History | Governance | 
Leadership Team & Staff | Parents Teachers Association | Facilities | Contact Us

The British School Manila is owned and operated by British Education, Inc. (BEI), a non-profit, non-stock organisation, under a Memorandum of Understanding with the Philippine Government. BEI is directed by a council of five Trustees, who are representatives of the British and Commonwealth business and diplomatic communities. Currently, the Trustees are appointed by the British and Australian Embassies, Shell Exploration, HSBC and Standard Chartered Bank with the Chairman and the Vice Chairman of the Board of Governors being ex-officio trustees. 

The Council of Trustees has delegated the normal operations of the school to a Board of Governors, whose members serve in a voluntary capacity, and to the Head of School, who is responsible for day-to-day management. The Head reports to the Board of Governors.

The Board of Governors consists of twelve members, eight of whom are appointed by the Council of Trustees and four of whom are elected.


Council of Trustees

Alastair Totty
Mat Kimberley
Australian Embassy

Ailene Manzano-Litonjua
Hongkong & Shanghai Bank

Sebastian Quiniones
Shell Philippines, Exploration BV


Simon Bewlay M.B.E.



Board of Governors

Robert Salamon
Chairman of the Board
Stein Melsbo
Finance and Administration
Timothy Daniels
Governance and Quality Assurance Governor
Lynne Gadkowski
Personnel Governor
Paul Ingram
Health, Safety, Security
and Environment Governor
Development, Building
and Maintenance Governor

Juana Manahan-Yupangco
Communication and Image Governor

Richard Kho
Information & Communication Technology Governor

Devi Manjani
Community Governor for Primary School

Kathy Mulville
Community Governor for Senior School

Nick Hilton
Social Responsibility Governor

James Lette
PTA Governor